2D heat-transfer (conduction/Laplacian/Poisson) in spherical annulus, axisymmetric spherical coordinates

Dear Community

This is not a query or plea for help. I am new to FEniCS and have been working for the past two weeks to understand how conduction in a spherical annulus may be modeled using 2D spherical axisymmetric coordinates. I have been fortunate to receive prompt assistance from other community members on the questions I had posed.

Since there appears to be a lot of material on dealing with axisymmetric cylindrical coordinates, but not the spherical case, I thought I would share with you the mathematical formulation, and the FEniCS script which solves the variational problem for this case.

1. Governing equation and variational formulation

\nabla^2 u=0;\,u(r=1,\theta)=1.0,\,u(r=R,\theta)=0.0

with

\nabla^2 u = \dfrac{1}{r^2}\dfrac{\partial}{\partial r}\left(r^2\dfrac{\partial u}{\partial r}\right)+\dfrac{1}{r^2\sin\theta}\dfrac{\partial}{\partial \theta}\left(\sin\theta\dfrac{\partial u}{\partial \theta}\right)

The variational problem is written as

\langle\nabla^2u,v\rangle_{\Omega}=\int_{r=1}^{r=R}\int_{\theta=0}^{\theta=2\pi}\left[\dfrac{1}{r^2}\dfrac{\partial}{\partial r}\left(r^2\dfrac{\partial u}{\partial r}\right)+\dfrac{1}{r^2\sin\theta}\dfrac{\partial}{\partial \theta}\left(\sin\theta\dfrac{\partial u}{\partial \theta}\right)\right]v(rdrd\theta)=0

Assuming that the trial and test functions (u and v, respectively) may be written in the
variable-separable form

u(r,\theta)=X(r)Y(\theta); \quad v(r,\theta)=A(r)B(\theta),

it may be shown that
\int_{r}\int_{\theta}\left[\dfrac{1}{r^2}\dfrac{\partial}{\partial r}\left(r^2\dfrac{\partial u}{\partial r}\right)\right]vrdrd\theta=\left[\int_{\theta}B(\theta)Y(\theta)d\theta\right]\times\left[\int_{r}\dfrac{A(r)}{r}\left(r^2\dfrac{d X}{d r}\right)dr\right]