FeniCs on Apple silicon M1

Greetings community, I wish to know if FeniCs (or FeniCS-X) can be installed to run natively on the new Apple silicon M1 processor based on the arm64 architecture. Thanks.

I don’t think that should be any issue with FeniCS-X.
But I’m not sure if it’s currently being tested in this architecture.

1 Like

Did you manage to make it work yet?

arm64 in general is known to work. The Debian and Ubuntu linux packages build for arm64.

2 Likes

Ok I’ve just been able to test it, the docker version of dolphinx does seem to work flawlessly.

Actually I might have spoken a bit too quickly… Trying to import dolfinx using the dolfinx/lab docker image available on docker hub on a MacBook Air M1 causes the kernel to crash and restart.
Is there any way to fix this?
Note that non-X version of Fenics (quay.io/fenicsproject/stable:latest) is working properly.

Are you using the docker version for apple silicon m1 ?

I am a developer of FEniCS. Today we introduced experimental native ARM64 builds of our Docker images.

From the end users point of view nothing changes, i.e.:

docker run -ti dolfinx/dolfinx

The lab image should also work.

Feedback here or on our Slack in #fenicsx would be much appreciated from Mac M1 users.

2 Likes

Is there a native ARM64 build for FeniCS 2019.1.0 to test on a Mac M1 ? I am still using that version. Thanks.

No… You are welcome to try building from the original Dockerfiles on ARM. You will certainly need to modify/adapt them but it will put you on the right path.

https://bitbucket.org/fenics-project/docker/src/master/dockerfiles/

I can’t really provide support, FEniCS 2019.1.0 is ‘legacy’ now.

1 Like

I installed the ARM build of FenicsX on a Mac M1 using

docker run -ti dolfinx/dolfinx

However, I see that some demos are not working since this docker image does not include packages such as PyVista, PyVistaqt and Gmsh. Can I install them inside the docker container ?

You can install both packages.