Gmsh, Meshio, Dolfin

I had a couple of questions regarding the whole meshing workflow when using gmsh and meshio to get a mesh suitable for FEniCS.

1. What kind of mesh format is suitable for FEniCS? Is it XML or XDMF? What is the difference between the two? What does the H5 file have to do with the XDMF format?

2. Are there any severe differences when using the gmsh API vs using the pygmsh module to create the geometry and the corresponding mesh?

3. I have used the following code to convert a 2D .msh file to .xdmf format and have a couple of remarks on what I think is happening and please correct me if I am wrong :

a) The cell_data_dict() function returns the cell data of the values under the key ‘triangle’ which is again value under the key ‘gmsh:physical’. So is it basically a nested dictionary? I am a beginner in python so please correct me if my understanding is wrong.

b) Inside meshio.write, in cell_data={“surf_marker” : [tri_data]}, is it basically just writing a dictionary with the key as “surf_marker”? Where is this key useful to us later on? Is it during the post processing of the mesh? Or as I read it during the input of mesh using Dolfin? as seen in question 4)

c) I have seen in a code that @Dokken provided, uses a prune z command to remove the z cordinates before using the points for a 2d case? What was the need and cause of that?

import meshio

mesh_name = "<filename>"
msh = meshio.read(mesh_name+".msh")

tri_data = msh.cell_data_dict["gmsh:physical"]["triangle"]
meshio.write(mesh_name+"_surf.xdmf",
    meshio.Mesh(points=msh.points,
        cells={"triangle": msh.cells_dict["triangle"]},
        cell_data={"surf_marker": [tri_data]}
    )
)

line_data = msh.cell_data_dict["gmsh:physical"]["line"]
meshio.write(mesh_name+"_line.xdmf",
    meshio.Mesh(points=msh.points,
        cells={"line": msh.cells_dict["line"]},
        cell_data={"line_marker": [line_data]}
    )
)