How to calculate effective stress/strain in a homogenization model

Hi Everyone !
I’m a beginner in Fenics and im trying to calculate then plot the effective strain/stress curve.
i don’t know how i should calculate the sum of strain/stress divided by number of elements.
then plot the curve directly with python.

You can compute the spatial average of a function f via

\bar{f} = \frac{1}{\vert\Omega\vert}\int_\Omega f\,d\Omega\text{ .}

In code, you would do the integrals using the assemble function, e.g.,

from dolfin import *

mesh = UnitIntervalMesh(16)
x = SpatialCoordinate(mesh)
f = x[0]**2
int_f = assemble(f*dx)
volume = assemble(Constant(1)*dx(domain=mesh))
avg_f = int_f/volume

print(avg_f)

Thank you it works perfectly !

This works perfectly fine over the entire domain, but I have a situation where I need to compute the spatial average over each cell of the domain. How do I do this please?

Consider the following:

from dolfin import *
mesh = UnitIntervalMesh(16)
x = SpatialCoordinate(mesh)
f = x[0]**2
V = FunctionSpace(mesh, "DG", 0)
v = TestFunction(V)
int_f = assemble(1/CellVolume(mesh)*f*v*dx)
print(int_f.get_local())

Dr. @dokken I want to compute average of my solution function over each cell (2D) in dolfinx. Can you please suggest how we can compute cell volume in fenicsx or we have any built in function to achieve this. I also wonder why we are introducing DG-0 space to do this. I appreciate your suggestions or help in acheiving this.

Here is an equivalent version for DOLFINx:

from mpi4py import MPI
import dolfinx
import ufl
mesh = dolfinx.mesh.create_unit_interval(MPI.COMM_WORLD, 10)
x = ufl.SpatialCoordinate(mesh)
f = x[0]**2
V = dolfinx.fem.functionspace(mesh, ("DG", 0))
v = ufl.TestFunction(V)
int_f = dolfinx.fem.assemble_vector(dolfinx.fem.form(1/ufl.CellVolume(mesh)*f*v*ufl.dx))
print(int_f.array)

The reason I introduce a DG-0 space is to isolate contributions from each cell (as DG-0 is 1 degree of freedom per cell).

1 Like