Newton solver does not converge due to non-linear term

Hello,

I am very new to FEniCS and trying to solve the following time-dependent, non-linear, 1D equation:
\frac{\partial h}{\partial t} + \frac{\partial}{\partial x}\left(h^3\frac{\partial^3h}{\partial x^3} + \frac 1h \frac{\partial h}{\partial x} \right)=0
with boundary conditions:
\frac{\partial h}{\partial x}=\frac{\partial^3 h}{\partial x^3}=0 ~~\text{at}~~ x=0,\frac{\lambda}{2}
and initial condition:
h(x,t=0)=\frac{10}{9} \left(1-\frac{1}{10}\cos(\frac{2\pi x}{\lambda})\right)

Introducing p=\frac{\partial^2 h}{\partial x^2} it is straightforward to obtain the variational formulation, with homogeneous Neumann boundary conditions for h and p. For now I only use a simple forward Euler scheme for the time.

I can’t do anything with that equation in FEniCS because of the term \frac{1}{h} \frac{\partial h}{\partial x}: at the first time-iteration, the newton algorithm does not converge and in fact the residual is already NaN at iteration 0. Everything seems fine when I remove it, or even replace the 1/h with some other functions of h.

I do not understand what could cause this. I do expect 1/h to be a issue eventually and lead to a singularity: h(x=0,t) \rightarrow 0 and I will have to deal with that later, but it should be OK at early times since the initial condition is nowhere close to 0.

I searched a bit in this forum but did not find tricks that could work, except using a random initial guess: I do not understand why but this seemingly improves things a bit: the Newton solver doesn’t converge, but at least the residual starts with a reasonable, non-NaN value (I tried to adjust the relaxation parameter, tolerances, … but couldn’t get it to converge).

Thanks for any help. My code is below

Note: This is a problem taken from the following reference