Strain/stress at gauss points of (in-)elastic problems in weak formulation

Hey everybody,

I am new to Fenics but I think it is the most appropriate way to get the results I need instead of coding complete new FEM routines in python. My goal is to have 3 seperate Fenics routines at the end of the week, for linear elastic, non-linear elastic and linear in-elastic (history dependent) problems in the weak for. All of the routines should calculate strain and stress at the gauss points.

I started with the linear elastic demo ft06_elasticity. Of course feel free to reduce the problem to 2D if it is easier. A normal unitsqaure is also okay.

Since now I modified the code such that I can calculate the strain/stress at each mesh coordinate. But I could not modify it for Gauss Points. Any idea how to do that?

from __future__ import print_function
from fenics import *
import numpy as np

# Scaled variables
L = 1; W = 0.2
mu = 1
rho = 1
delta = W/L
gamma = 0.4*delta**2
beta = 1.25
lambda_ = beta
g = gamma

# Create mesh and define function space
mesh = BoxMesh(Point(0, 0, 0), Point(L, W, W), 10, 3, 3)
V = VectorFunctionSpace(mesh, 'P', 1)

# Define boundary condition
tol = 1E-14

def clamped_boundary(x, on_boundary):
    return on_boundary and x[0] < tol

bc = DirichletBC(V, Constant((0, 0, 0)), clamped_boundary)

# Define strain and stress

def epsilon(u):
    return 0.5*(grad(u) + grad(u).T)
    #return sym(nabla_grad(u))

def sigma(u):
    return lambda_*div(u)*Identity(d) + 2*mu*epsilon(u)

# Define variational problem
u = TrialFunction(V)
d = u.geometric_dimension()  # space dimension
v = TestFunction(V)
f = Constant((0, 0, -rho*g))
T = Constant((0, 0, 0))
a = inner(sigma(u), epsilon(v))*dx
L = dot(f, v)*dx + dot(T, v)*ds

# Compute solution
u = Function(V)
solve(a == L, u, bc)

# Plot solution
plot(u, title='Displacement', mode='displacement')

Vsig = TensorFunctionSpace(mesh,'DG',0)
Veps = TensorFunctionSpace(mesh, 'DG', 0)

PKTensor = project(sigma(u), Vsig)