What does this function do?

Hi,

So since I am a beginner, my question my be trivial, but still…

I was looking at this example and there is a function within the example, I do not quite understand:

def eps(v):
    e = sym(grad(v))
    return as_tensor([[e[0, 0], e[0, 1], 0],
                      [e[0, 1], e[1, 1], 0],
                      [0, 0, 0]])

At first I thought eps(u) is the strain tensor but since it is later multiplied with strian

metadata = {"quadrature_degree": deg_stress, "quadrature_scheme": "default"}
dxm = dx(metadata=metadata)

a_Newton = inner(eps(v), sigma_tang(eps(u_)))*dxm

the eps can’t be the strain tensor but it must do something else. I think that simply because I don’t think multiplying strain tensor with stress tensor has any meaning. Or does it?

question

Is there a mathematical interpretation of what the eps does? I am trying to rewrite the example in a different framework.

Is this the strain-displacement matrix, usually denoted by B?

You might want to take a step back from plasticity, and first make sure you understand @bleyerj’s 2D elasticity tutorial here. It seems like the root of the misunderstanding may be with the concept of weak forms of partial differential equations (PDEs), in which case you might even start with the Poisson demo.

I’ll answer your questions directly in the context of the 2D elasticity tutorial:

Is there a mathematical interpretation of what the eps does?

eps(v) returns the symmetric gradient of its argument, v, i.e.,

\boldsymbol{\varepsilon}(\mathbf{v}) = \operatorname{sym}\nabla\mathbf{v} = \frac{1}{2}(\nabla\mathbf{v} + \nabla\mathbf{v}^T)\text{ .}

If v is the displacement, then this is the strain, but notice that the Cauchy stress is contracted with eps(v), where v is a test function. (In the plasticity demo, the 2D symmetric gradient is then padded with zeros to fit into a 3D formulation.)

I don’t think multiplying strain tensor with stress tensor has any meaning. Or does it?