1D periodic boundary condition not satisfied

I am new to FEniCS and I am trying to solve a type of inviscid Burgers equation with periodic boundary conditions on the unit interval. The code I have written does not throw any errors, but the resulting functions that I plotted did not have periodic boundary conditions.

I have supplied my code below. I have installed FEniCS 2018.1.0 from Anaconda.
I have added a print statement to the map function and noticed that it doesn’t execute.
Am I doing something wrong?

from fenics import *
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt

t0 = 0
num_elements = 300
p_lbd = 2
dt = 0.001

# define periodic boundary
class PeriodicBoundary(SubDomain):

def inside(self, x, on_boundary):
        return bool(x[0] < DOLFIN_EPS or x[0] > 1 - DOLFIN_EPS and on_boundary)

def map(self, x, y):
        y[0] = x[0] - 1
        print(x)

mesh = UnitIntervalMesh(num_elements)
V = FunctionSpace(mesh, 'P', 1, constrained_domain=PeriodicBoundary())

u = Function(V)
v = TestFunction(V)

u0 = Expression("p_lbd + sin(DOLFIN_PI*(2*x[0]))", p_lbd=p_lbd, element=V.ufl_element())

u0 = project(u0, V)

# implicit euler formulation
F = u*v*dx + dt*inner(grad(u),grad(v))*u*dx + dt*0.01*inner(grad(u), grad(v))*dx - u0*v*dx

T = 0.1
t = dt

# steps
while t <= T:
    solve(F == 0, u)
    t += dt
    u0.assign(u)

plot(u)
plt.show()

In your inside function you should specify the “target” domain only.
It works for me with

return bool(- DOLFIN_EPS < x[0] < DOLFIN_EPS and on_boundary)

Thanks for the hint! I changed that line but I get really strange looking plots now, for example for the initial function I get this

periodicu0

However, evaluating the function at given points seems to give a correct result, so I guess this solved the problem.

Hi, thanks for this remark, which saves me a lot of time debugging. Do you know why this happens? Using compute_vertex_values gives the desired results but using .vector.().get_local() gives the strange looking plot.