Accessing the basis function of a Finite Element

Hello to everybody,

I am working with a problem where I need to directly access the basis functions of a Finite Element. A minimal example would be:

>>> from fenics import *
>>> mesh = UnitSquareMesh(8,8)
>>> V = FunctionSpace(mesh, 'P', 1)
>>> V.dim()

displays 81. Then I’d like to have a Python list of all these 81 functions, and being able to evaluate/use them. The precise reason beyond this is very long to describe, since it involves connections with other mathematical objects I am studying, so for simplicity I prefer stopping here.

This question has been already posted on this website (https://fenicsproject.org/qa/7820/direct-finite-element-functions-specified-functionspace/), but the answer finds another solution not enough for my case (I specifically need the list). My FEniCS knowledge is roughly bases on the official book “tutorial 1”, and I have already tried with help(V), from which I learnt about .dim().

Thanks a lot in advance!

Is something like the following what you were thinking of?

from dolfin import *
from numpy import array

# Simple mesh/space for testing:
mesh = UnitIntervalMesh(3)
tree = mesh.bounding_box_tree()
V = FunctionSpace(mesh,"CG",1)

# Evaluate the i-th basis function at point x:
def basis_func(i,x):
    cell_index = tree.compute_first_entity_collision(Point(*x))
    cell_global_dofs = V.dofmap().cell_dofs(cell_index)
    for local_dof in range(0,len(cell_global_dofs)):
        if(i==cell_global_dofs[local_dof]):
            cell = Cell(mesh, cell_index)
            values = array([0,])
            return V.element().evaluate_basis(local_dof,x,
                                              cell.get_vertex_coordinates(),
                                              cell.orientation())
    # If none of this cell's shape functions map to the i-th basis function,
    # then the i-th basis function is zero at x.
    return 0.0