Complex numbers

I am new to fenics and somewhat baffled by the complex number support. My OS is Ubuntu 22.04 and believe I have installed the complex number packages for petsc, slepc and fenics. Changing the PETSC_DIR and SLEPC_DIR environment variables changes the PETSc scalar type as expected. The Poisson demo with complex numbers seemed to run as expected (although a hanging pyvista required addressing). The “Solving PDEs with different scalar (float) types” demo however fails with:

NotImplementedError: Type <class ‘numpy.complex64’> not supported.

The error is independent of the PETSc scalar type and looks similar to the types of errors appearing in my own code. I appreciate fenicsx is still under development but are complex numbers and this demo program expected to work? Are the ubuntu 22.04 packages expected to work? Is compiling from source expected to work? Have I got something obvious wrong?

Could you be more specific as to what line of: Solving PDEs with different scalar (float) types — DOLFINx 0.5.1 documentation
produces this error?

Secondly, could you provide the full traceback of your error message, encapsulated as

```
Add traceback here
```

Finally, how did you install dolfin?

What are the exact instructions you used, and what is the output of the installation commands?

The output from the demo was:

andy@tavy:~/work/fenicsx/modanal$ python test4.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/andy/work/fenicsx/modanal/test4.py", line 126, in <module>
    uh = solve(dtype=np.complex64)
  File "/home/andy/work/fenicsx/modanal/test4.py", line 72, in solve
    a0 = fem.form(a, dtype=dtype)
  File "/usr/lib/petscdir/petsc3.15/x86_64-linux-gnu-complex/lib/python3/dist-packages/dolfinx/fem/forms.py", line 121, in form
    raise NotImplementedError(f"Type {dtype} not supported.")
NotImplementedError: Type <class 'numpy.complex64'> not supported.
andy@tavy:~/work/fenicsx/modanal$

The initial installation on Ubuntu 22.04 was: