Complicated source functions

Hello together,

I’m new to Fenics and I haven’t seen by now any post about really complicated source functions as e.g.

• numpy code

• pytorch code

My ultimate goal is to solve Poisson’s problem with a neural network (in pytorch) as the source function. In order to do so I’ve started with a minimal example to get pytorch/numpy source functions work: As mentioned below I reduced the working example to the following

import ufl
from mpi4py import MPI
import dolfinx
from dolfinx.fem.petsc import LinearProblem
from dolfinx import mesh
from dolfinx.fem import FunctionSpace
from dolfinx import fem

import torch as tr
import numpy as np

def my_f(x):
    # pytorch stuff
    #array_np = np.array([x[0], x[1]])
    #array_tr = tr.tensor(array_np, dtype=tr.double)
    #value    = tr.sum(array_tr).to_numpy()

# numpy stuff
    array_np = np.array([x[0], x[1]], dtype=np.float64)
    value    = np.linalg.norm(array_np)

return value

domain = mesh.create_rectangle(MPI.COMM_WORLD, [[-1.0, -1.0], [1.0, 1.0]], [50, 50])
V      = FunctionSpace(domain, ("Lagrange", 1))

# ## Defining the source term
f = fem.Function(V)
f.interpolate(my_f)

The Ouput for this code is

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/petsc/lib/python3/dist-packages/dolfinx/fem/function.py", line 397, in interpolate
    _interpolate(u, cells)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.10/functools.py", line 889, in wrapper
    return dispatch(args[0].__class__)(*args, **kw)
  File "/usr/lib/petsc/lib/python3/dist-packages/dolfinx/fem/function.py", line 373, in _interpolate
    self._cpp_object.interpolate(u, cells, nmm_interpolation_data)
TypeError: interpolate(): incompatible function arguments. The following argument types are supported:
    1. (self: dolfinx.cpp.fem.Function_float64, f: numpy.ndarray[numpy.float64], cells: numpy.ndarray[numpy.int32]) -> None