Dolfinx build issue: Found serial HDF5 build, MPI HDF5 build required

Dear all,
I am totally new to Fenics and I am having troubles with the installation. I am on OS Sonoma 14.1, and I am trying to install Dolfinx . I followed the build procedure for C++ shown here:

cd dolfinx-main/cpp; mkdir build; cd build; cmake ..

and I get the following output error:

[...]
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:334 (message):
  Found serial HDF5 build, MPI HDF5 build required, try setting HDF5_DIR or
  HDF5_ROOT

I installed hdf5 1.14 by downloading the .tar.gz, then

./configure --enable-parallel --enable-shared
make 
sudo make install

If I remove --enable-parallel , --enable-shared or both, I get the same error.

Do you know how to fix this ?
Thank you !

You may want to

to the directory where

installed your custom version of hdf5. To be extra safe, delete the build folder before running cmake again.

1 Like

Hello, I don’t understand, where should I set HDF5_DIR ? In .bash_profile or .zprofile ?

Try with export HDF5_ROOT=/path/to/hdf5 in your current terminal, no need to modify profile files, delete build and run cmake again.

You may use tools like ccmake in your build directory to double check whether this setting makes any difference.

Hello,
I am not sure what is the right folder to set to /path/to/hdf5. It may be /Applications/hdf5-1.14.3/hdf5/ or /Applications/hdf5-1.14.3/hdf5/bin/? Here is what is inside these folders:

% ls /Applications/hdf5-1.14.3/hdf5/bin h5cc h5debug h5dump h5import h5mkgrp h5perf_serial h5repart h5unjam h5clear h5delete h5format_convert h5jam h5pcc h5redeploy h5stat h5watch h5copy h5diff h5fuse.sh h5ls h5perf h5repack h5tools_test_utils ph5diff

% ls /Applications/hdf5-1.14.3/hdf5/ bin include lib share

Anyway, I removed the build folder, then did

export HDF5_ROOT=/Applications/hdf5-1.14.3/hdf5/bin; mkdir build; cd build; cmake ..