[Gradient w.r.t MeshFunction]

Dear all:

I am new to fenics, and I wonder if it’s possible to find the gradient w.r.t the MeshFunction?

More specified:
For a given mesh, with stored simulation result from external numerical model, we denote the f_{i} \in R be the value of the i-th mesh center. So we have no explicit expression for f but only mesh-center value.

Consider for the nonlinear poisson problem (g is known function, boundary setting is same as demo nonlinear poisson case), my question is : how we formulate the || \nabla f||^{2}, or gradient of f in fenics, with only information of the mesh and the cell center value ?

\nabla \cdot \left( {||\nabla f|{|^2}\nabla u} \right) = g

Tried solution:
[1] In demo case ‘tensor weighted poisson’, an example of the meshFunction may solve this problem. However, it reports that '‘MeshFunctionDouble can not be converted to any UFL type’ .

Thanks for anyone watched this thread.
Best regards,
Anthony

You would have to convert your mesh function into a function in the (“DG”, 0) space, see for instance: How to define different materials / importet 3D geometry (gmsh) - #2 by dokken

Hello dokken, thanks for your kindly reply!

As your suggestion, did you mean the code should be like this?

f = [val_cell_1, val_cell_2, ..., val_cell_nxn]
mesh = UnitSquareMesh(n, n)
V = FunctionSpace(mesh, "DG", 0)
v = Function(V)
x = V.tabulate_dof_coordinates()

for i in range(x.shape[0]): # cell_number x dimension
    v.vector().vec().setValueLocal(i, f[i])
grad_of_v  = grad(v)
do something 

Sorry for this kind of reply since something wrong with my docker and i currently not able to verified by myself.

Thanks for your help!

You have written sudo-code almost identical to the post I linked you to, so yes, it should do what you expect.

Yeah, the code above almost referenced from your post, just to verfify the code behave as i expect.

Thank you for your kindly help! It really helps me a lot.
Best regards!
Anthony