How to Use Isoparametric Elements with P2-P1 in FEniCSx for DFG 2D-2 Benchmark?

How to Use Isoparametric Elements with P2-P1 in FEniCSx for DFG 2D-2 Benchmark?

Hello everyone,

I’m new to using DOLFINx in FEniCSx and I’m interested in employing isoparametric elements to enhance my simulations. Specifically, I would like to use the P2-P1 Taylor-Hood elements to solve the Navier-Stokes equations as part of the DFG 2D-2 benchmark.
geometry

My main goal is to achieve a more accurate representation of the circular geometry within my simulation. Although I’ve found a demo online (thanks to Test problem 2: Flow past a cylinder (DFG 2D-3 benchmark) — FEniCSx tutorial), it doesn’t seem to utilize isoparametric elements for this purpose. I’m unsure how to proceed—should I modify the mesh generation process, alter the type of elements used, or consider other changes?

I would greatly appreciate any guidance, tutorials, or resources on how to effectively implement this in FEniCSx.

Thank you!

Im not sure what you mean, the DFG-2 tutorial you reference above uses second order quadrilateral elements for the geometry, that would make it «isoparametric» in the sense that it is of the same order as the velocity space.

Thank you for your quick response.

By “isoparametric”, I am referring to the functionality that enables the creation of elements that are nonrectangular and have curved sides. I think it can be used to more precisely approximate the shape of a circle.
picture

I am uncertain if the code I referenced employs this functionality, as there was no indication that it instructs Fenicsx to curve the mesh to more closely conform to a circular shape.

It does, as i have already mentioned the mesh is higher order, made possible in the line:

Generating the mesh#