Making FEniCSx more available on Windows machines

Currently Windows users can only access FEniCSx by installing a program WSL2 to create a linux subsystem on Windows. I am a new user who has finally gotten this up and running, but there are some significant difficulties from what I am seeing. More details on this can be found in my thread “Installing FEniCSx on Windows 11” in the Installation category. When I asked why FEniCSx can’t run on Windows, I received the following information:

“It is not available on Windows due to the usage of PETSc for linear algebra.

There is a medium term goal of having petsc as an optional dependency, meaning that one could build directly on Windows
Make PETSc an optional dependency · Issue #2472 · FEniCS/dolfinx · GitHub 1

I realize that all work on FEniCSx must be prioritized, and I would like to supply some information here that might be considered in setting these priorities. As background, I am a mathematician who spent most of his life building PDE-based models of electrochemical systems. Recently I came upon the following article: Application of Open-Source, Python-Based Tools for the Simulation of Electrochemical Systems, by Molel and Fuller

This is how I learned about the existence of FEniCSx. Here is a quote from this article

“The best environment to install and use FEniCSx is the Linux environment, for example Ubuntu, where FEniCSx can be installed via the Personal Package Archives (PPA), via Spack and via Anaconda. We do not have experience working with FEniCSx in macOS, which is Unix-based, and the github repository does not list any challenges. One may therefore assume that Anaconda distribution would work in macOS. The shortcomings in installing FEniCSx in Windows could limit usability of FEniCSx because the Linux environment can have a learning curve, and that macOS requires use of a Mac computer.”