Nonlinear PDE PETSc Error 63

Good evening,

I am trying to solve a very simple 1D non linear PDE with constant Dirichlet boundary conditions (I’m a true beginner at FeniCS). After the first iteration, I always get the same error code:

Error: Unable to successfully call PETSc function ‘MatSetValuesLocal’.
*** Reason: PETSc error code is: 63 (Argument out of range).
*** Where: This error was encountered inside /usr/local/miniconda/conda-bld/fenics-pkgs_1565954444213/work/dolfin/dolfin/la/PETScMatrix.cpp.

Solutions I’ve looked around the Internet involve split functions but I can’t really understand if those apply to my problem; by the way, I’ve installed FeniCS thanks to conda-forge. Anyway here is the code:

maillage = UnitIntervalMesh(50)
H_P1 = FunctionSpace(maillage, 'P', 1)
I = Function(H_P1)
phi = TestFunction(H_P1)

F =  (d/25) * div(grad(I)) * phi * dx + (beta/alpha) * phi * (I - (I**2)/K) * dx

class Dirichlet_0(SubDomain):
    def inside(self, x, on_boundary):
        return near(x[0],0,10**(-14)) and on_boundary

class Dirichlet_1(SubDomain):
    def inside(self, x, on_boundary):
        return near(x[0],1,10**(-14)) and on_boundary

condition_0 = DirichletBC(H_P1, Constant(300), Dirichlet_0())
condition_1 = DirichletBC(H_P1, Constant(0), Dirichlet_1())

I = Function(H_P1)
J = derivative(F,I)

problem = NonlinearVariationalProblem(F, I, [condition_0, condition_1], J=J)
solver  = NonlinearVariationalSolver(problem)
solver.solve()

Could you help me fix that error?

Thank you in advance

You’ve redefined I which means you don’t have a bilinear operator when you compute the derivative J. So you’re assembling an empty LHS matrix.

Also, your FE formulation doesn’t look correct, but I’m assuming you can figure that out.

1 Like

First of all, thank you very much for your quick response !
You’re completely right about the derivative J, I’ve moved that just after the definition of F.