Proper coordinates for eval()-method

Hello,

I’m fairly new to fenics and I need to evaluate a Function-object on specific points of the mesh. For example, take the non-linear poisson example (code see there). What I would now like to do is to specify the points, at which I want to evaluate the solution, and basically get the values at that point. After reading some other posts I came with the following:

dkiCoordX = np.linspace(0,1, 100)
dkiCoordY = np.linspace(0,1, 100)

# basically the cartesian product of the coordinate vectors, format 10000x2
dkiGrid = np.array(np.meshgrid(dkiCoordX, dkiCoordY)).T.reshape(-1,2) 

values1 = np.ones(10000)
values2 = np.ones(10000)
u.eval(values1, dkiGrid.flatten())
u.eval(values2, mesh.coordinates().flatten())

Apparently, this is not what eval() is expecting from me. Though I get no errors, the only thing that happens to the values vectors is that the first entry changes, everything else stays 1. I’ve also tried a lower number (5x5), but it still doesn’t work.

I would be thankful for any hints and, of course, solutions. It doens’t even have to be the eval()-method, I really just need to evaluate the solution at given points.

1 Like

Does

value = u(Point(x,y,z))

work?

1 Like

I’m sorry I should’ve been more specific; it does indeed work, just as

value = u(x,y)

but I need a fast way to evaluate u at many points. I really don’t want to loop over the coordinates in plain python and evaluate u pointwise, that would just take way too much time.

There seems to be no other way:
https://fenicsproject.org/qa/6374/what-is-the-best-way-to-evaluate-function-in-list-coordinates/

Ah yes, I’ve already stumbled upon that post. I hoped that maybe in Fenics 2018 there would be some way. And fenicstools seems to be only offering a Python2 interface… At least that’s what I got when I tried it out, I didn’t spend that much time on it, though.