Using FEniCS with python venv

Hi all,

I’m new to FEniCS, and I’m trying to run some sample files I’ve found on the web. I’m using Ubuntu 20.04.1.

The sample program works fine if I do not use a Python virtual environment, but, as soon as I create a venv and I activate it, the terminal cannot recognize fenics as a module (ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘fenics’).

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you very much,

Michele

Could you elaborate a bit more on what commands works, how you have installed dolfin (and what actually works), and how you are creating a virtual environment and what modules you expect that should be installed in this environment (A virtual environment doesn’t carry over locally installed packages, as far as I am aware).

Hi Jorgen,

Thank you very much for your answer.

I followed these steps:

1. I created a Python virtual environment in /home/user/Documents/Python called fenics-venv, and I activated it:

python3 -m venv fenics-venv
    source fenics-venv/bin/activate

2. I copied the sample file poisson.py that I’ve found at this git repository in the following path /home/user/Documents/Python/fenics-venv/my-fenics-project

3. FEniCS was installed by using the commands for ubuntu found at this link (with the venv activated):

sudo apt-get install software-properties-common
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:fenics-packages/fenics
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install --no-install-recommends fenics

4. After opening the terminal directly from the folder /home/user/Documents/Python/fenics-venv/my-fenics-project (where the sample file is), I run the following command:

python poisson.py

By doing this, I get the following error:

ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘fenics’