Arnold-Boffi-Falk spaces using Basix

Hello everyone,

I want to use the Arnold-Boffi-Falk H(div)-conforming elements (see DefElement: Arnold–Boffi–Falk) in my FEniCSx scripts. As far as I know, they are not implemented by default, but I could define them using Basix.

I have no experience using Basix, but I found this helpful demo about the lowest-order RT element on triangles.

https://docs.fenicsproject.org/basix/v0.5.1/python/demo/demo_custom_element.py.html#degree-1-ravairt-thomas-element

Since the Arnold-Boffi-Falk elements are somewhat similar to the RT elements on quadrilaterals (see DefElement: Q H(div)), I figured that a good first step would be adapting the demo to generate the lowest-order RT element on quadrilaterals. Here are my efforts.

import basix
import numpy as np
from basix import CellType, MapType, PolynomialType, LatticeType, SobolevSpace

# Coefficient matrix
# ------------------

wcoeffs = np.zeros((4, 8))

pts, wts = basix.make_quadrature(CellType.quadrilateral, 2)
poly = basix.tabulate_polynomials(PolynomialType.legendre, CellType.quadrilateral, 1, pts)
x = pts[:, 0]
y = pts[:, 1]
for i in range(4):
    wcoeffs[0, 4+i] = sum((1-y)*poly[i, :]*wts)
    wcoeffs[1, i] = sum((x-1)*poly[i, :]*wts)
    wcoeffs[2, i] = sum(-x*poly[i, :]*wts)
    wcoeffs[3, 4+i] = sum(y*poly[i, :]*wts)

# Interpolation
# -------------

pts, wts = basix.make_quadrature(CellType.interval, 1)

# The points associated with each edge are calculated by mapping the quadrature points to each edge.

x = [[], [], [], []]
for _ in range(4):
    x[0].append(np.zeros((0, 2)))
x[1].append(np.array([[p[0], 0] for p in pts]))
x[1].append(np.array([[0, p[0]] for p in pts]))
x[1].append(np.array([[1, p[0]] for p in pts]))
x[1].append(np.array([[p[0], 1] for p in pts]))
x[2].append(np.zeros((0, 2)))

M = [[], [], [], []]
for _ in range(4):
    M[0].append(np.zeros((0, 2, 0, 1)))
for normal in [[0, 1], [-1, 0], [-1, 0], [0, 1]]:
    mat = np.empty((1, 2, len(wts), 1))