Simultaneous installation of real and complex builds

I am new to fenics and still finding my way. I appreciate this has been an open issue for a while. I have what seems like a fairly common task which is to approximate with either a real or complex eigen system depending on what is found. I can tackle it with separate python processes and handling the IO or by dropping down to C with a single process but would prefer a single python process. Has a reasonable way of achieving this arisen since the issue was posted?

The only bit in DOLFINx that does not support mixed floating types is PETSc. See for instance: Solving PDEs with different scalar (float) types — DOLFINx 0.5.1 documentation

Thanks for the suggestion to use the solvers in scipy which might be an easier approach during the initial development phase on a workstation. Unfortunately I am getting the following error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/andy/work/fenicsx/modanal/main_sp.py", line 143, in <module>
    K = fem.assemble_matrix(kc, bcs=[bc])
  File "/usr/lib/python3.10/functools.py", line 889, in wrapper
    return dispatch(args[0].__class__)(*args, **kw)
  File "/usr/lib/petscdir/petsc3.15/x86_64-linux-gnu-complex/lib/python3/dist-packages/dolfinx/fem/assemble.py", line 273, in _assemble_matrix_form
    A: la.MatrixCSRMetaClass = create_matrix(a)
  File "/usr/lib/petscdir/petsc3.15/x86_64-linux-gnu-complex/lib/python3/dist-packages/dolfinx/fem/assemble.py", line 97, in create_matrix
    return la.matrix_csr(sp, dtype=a.dtype)
  File "/usr/lib/petscdir/petsc3.15/x86_64-linux-gnu-complex/lib/python3/dist-packages/dolfinx/la.py", line 81, in matrix_csr
    return matrixcls(sp)
  File "/usr/lib/petscdir/petsc3.15/x86_64-linux-gnu-complex/lib/python3/dist-packages/dolfinx/la.py", line 54, in __init__
    super().__init__(sp)
RuntimeError: Block size not yet supported

which has been seen before with the work around to use petsc. I am also initially looking at elasticity problems.